CPW Shortlisted for National Employer Award

Birmingham-based Couch Perry & Wilkes has been shortlisted for the 2011 Chartered Institute of Building Services Engineers Employer of the Year Awards.

The leading environmental services consultancy is one of just two companies shortlisted in the medium-sized business category for the award, which is presented by the CIBSE and the Young Engineers’ Network.

Previously named the YEN Champions Award, it recognises employers who demonstrate a commitment to developing the young engineers of the future in employment and by supporting them in education.

Steve Lakin, Director at CPW’s head office in Birmingham , said it recognised the value of nurturing up-and-coming engineering talent and had spent the past five years building on its apprenticeship scheme.

“We believe we have a responsibility to help shape the UK’s next generation of engineers,” he said. “There is a wealth of young talent out there and we are keen to tap into their expertise and nurture them in their careers.

“It’s not just about encouraging apprentices, though; we also are committed to continued professional development of all our staff to ensure they have the skills needed for this specialist sector.”

Rob Manning, CIBSE Past President, said: “For our industry to be successful in meeting our targets we must attract the brightest and best to the industry and retain them.

“To do so needs the pledge of support from our industry leaders. These awards reward those who are supporting and encouraging young talent.”

CPW is one of the largest environmental building services consultancies in the UK, with five offices across England.

It employs more than 160 people and has put 23 trainee engineers and senior engineers through a series of qualifications. CPW has also invested heavily to provide accredited LCC (low carbon consultants) energy assessors, BREEAM assessors and PassivHaus designers.

The awards ceremony will be held on July 7, 2011 in London. Winners will each receive a trophy and £1,000 of CIBSE training vouchers. The awards are sponsored by Baxi Commercial Division and Heatrae Sadia.